How to forget a network on mac os x lion

How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network in Mac OS X

It only takes a minute to sign up. My home wifi network is password protected, as it should be. My neighbor's is not. Because I have password protected my network, my computer continually joins my neighbors instead of mine. I have moved my network to the top of the list of the "preferred" wireless networks, but if my network is down for whatever reason my computer just re-joins the neighbor's network.

I don't want to join my neighbor's network, ever. Is there a way to make it so that my computer will never join a particular network, i. Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site the association bonus does not count.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead? Sign up to join this community.

How to forget a network on a Mac

The best answers are voted up and rise to the top. Home Questions Tags Users Unanswered. Ask Question. Asked 8 years ago.

How to Fix Wi-Fi / Network Issues on Mac

Active 3 years, 4 months ago. Viewed 63k times. Jason Jason 4 4 gold badges 19 19 silver badges 38 38 bronze badges.

Troubleshooting BC Wireless (Faculty\Staff)

Remove it from the list of "Preferred Networks" and it will stop auto-connecting. Click the "Advanced" button. In the resulting sheet, choose the "AirPort" or "WiFi" tab.

  1. mac os x reset admin password without disc;
  2. Subscribe to RSS.
  3. macos - Wipe all WiFi settings from MacBook - Ask Different.
  4. how to turn off the flash on your mac.
  5. best photo sharing sites mac.

It should be the leftmost. Select your neighbor's wifi network in the list and hit the "-" minus button. Live with joy at never [auto-]connecting there again! Page content loaded. Nov 8, AM. Nov 8, PM in response to dominic23 In response to dominic No, thats what i tried frist time.

I tried - button. That didnt help me. The netwrok goes away when i click on the - button. But when I select the network, it get connected immediatly without even asking me the network password. Some how my macbook pro has a terrific memory. It remebers the network key even if I press - button. Any more suggestions? Nov 8, PM. You can repair permissions if you boot into the recovery partition, its a unix osx thing it seems to break things all the time if it doesn't fix your problem it would prolly fix something that you haven't noticed yet.

I tried this twice.

Removing wireless network profiles or preferred networks

Any other trick? Nov 10, AM. To do this, highlight the networks and click on the minus sign. You did not mention that you have already done this in your original posting.

Published Answers

Hi Manjooran, This has also irritated me for ages. I often think a double-edged sword would have been a better icon to represent these devices than an apple They just work best with a calm mind, like anything.

About the Author

Wi-Fi access is everywhere! Cassandra says:. Now click on Ok and its done. Sign up to join this community. In relation to consumers who are entitled to the benefit of the CGA, the media on which Software is provided comes with guarantees that cannot be excluded under New Zealand law, and this Limited Warranty is in addition to any statutory rights such consumers may have under New Zealand law.

Feb 7, AM. Unfortunately, the use of the deletion - in the Network prefs window does NOT prevent the neighbor's network from showing up in the pull-down wi-fi list. Oops, a few minutes later and it's back!

  • make bootable dvd from iso mac.
  • mac outlook wants to use the login keychain.
  • hobo data logger software mac!

Can anyone confirm that you can indeed permanently exclude networks from the wi-fi pull down menu? Feb 28, AM. I was having the same problem. I fixed the problem by searching for keychain in the magnifying glass icon in the upper right hand corner. I openned the keychain application and found that the wifi network passwords were saved in the keychain.

Once I removed the network under systems preferences, and deleted the password from keychain, I got the desired outcome. Jun 21, PM.

CONTACT SUPPORT

You can try delete the profiles. To do this, you need to clear whatever in n etwork prefs window first. Boom-it works. Aug 7, PM. Go to Keychain Access and just delete the profile for whatever network you don't want to join. This way the computer does not know the password to put in. Aug 12, PM. That worked well for me.